To win, or to beat

A few days ago, I was playing a board game with my brother in law Michael, and his cousin Timothy.  They are young teenagers, and we all love the game, Settlers of Katan.

The goal of the game is similar to the famous computer game, Age of Empires.  Players earn and use resources like brick, rock, livestock, wood, and wheat to buy and build a civilization.  The first player to build enough settlements, cities, armies, and roads wins the game.

Timothy was in the lead, and very close to victory, when I mentally counted his points.  I realized the danger, and told Michael we needed to do everything possible to keep Timothy from winning.  We made a temporary alliance that slowed Timothy’s progress enough that we could catch up to him.  I ended up winning the game.

But it wasn’t a very satisfying win, for I was haunted by my conscience that I hadn’t won fairly.  As I evaluated this feeling, and went through my thoughts, actions, and motives during the crucial moment in the game, I realized something.

Michael wouldn’t have realized the danger if I hadn’t told him.  He would have continued to engage in mutually beneficial trades with Timothy that could have allowed Timothy to win the game.  However, after I told him the situation, we both refused to trade with Timothy at all.

I didn’t break any official rule by telling him, but I realized that for just a moment, I let my competitiveness compromise my integrity.

Instead of using all my intelligence and creativity to build my empire and win, I used manipulation to beat someone else.

Maybe you can’t see a difference.  But for me, it was wrong.

Sorry Man.

 

Leave a comment